Cayman Islands

Flags of All Countries

Cayman Islands Introduction 2008

Cayman Islands Map

The Cayman Islands were colonized from Jamaica by the British during the 18th and 19th centuries, and were administered by Jamaica after 1863. In 1959, the islands became a territory within the Federation of the West Indies, but when the Federation dissolved in 1962, the Cayman Islands chose to remain a British dependency.

NOTE: The information regarding Cayman Islands on this page is re-published from the 2008 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Cayman Islands Introduction 2008 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Cayman Islands Introduction Issues 2008 should be addressed to the CIA.