Flags of All Countries

Samoa Introduction 2008

Samoa Map

New Zealand occupied the German protectorate of Western Samoa at the outbreak of World War I in 1914. It continued to administer the islands as a mandate and then as a trust territory until 1962, when the islands became the first Polynesian nation to reestablish independence in the 20th century. The country dropped the "Western" from its name in 1997.

NOTE: The information regarding Samoa on this page is re-published from the 2008 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Samoa Introduction 2008 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Samoa Introduction Issues 2008 should be addressed to the CIA.