Flags of All Countries

Tonga Introduction 2005

Tonga Map

The archipelago of "The Friendly Islands" was united into a Polynesian kingdom in 1845. It became a constitutional monarchy in 1875 and a British protectorate in 1900. Tonga acquired its independence in 1970 and became a member of the Commonwealth of Nations. It remains the only monarchy in the Pacific.

NOTE: The information regarding Tonga on this page is re-published from the 2005 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of Tonga Introduction 2005 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about Tonga Introduction Issues 2005 should be addressed to the CIA.